Gender and Politics Working Group - Spring 17


Location: 336 O'Shaughnessy

The Gender and Politics Working Group (est. 2013) is an inclusive and interdisciplinary group of Political Science faculty and graduate students seeking to enhance and enable the study of gender and politics, intersectionality (gender, race, ethnicity, class, sexuality, disability, nationality, religion), and feminism both in the Department of Political Science and the broader university community.

All are welcome!

Please contact Eileen Hunt Botting at with your interest in attending or joining our email list.


Lunch from Panera Bread will be served for all pre-registrants. Email with your plans to attend a session.


Monthly meetings scheduled for Monday lunch hours in 336 O’Shaughnessy (Rooney Center seminar room)


Monday Jan. 23, noon-1pm: Christina Wolbrecht (American Politics), "Agents of Change? Uncovering the Contributions of Female Voters to New Deal Realignment," a chapter from her book, Counting Women's Ballots: Female Voters from Suffrage Through the New Deal (with J. Kevin Corder) (Cambridge, 2016).

Monday Feb. 13, noon-1pm: Dianne Pinderhughes (American Politics and Africana Studies) will present a chapter from Contested Transformation: Race, Gender, and Political Leadership in 21st Century America, by Carol Hardy-Fanta, Pei-te Lien, Dianne Pinderhughes, and Christine Marie Sierra (Cambridge, 2016).

Monday March 6, noon-1pm: Karie Cross (Political Theory and Peace Studies, doctoral student) will present a chapter of her dissertation on "Critical Feminist Justpeace."

Monday April 10, noon-1pm: Eileen Hunt Botting (Political Theory) will present on “Dealing with Gender Bias in Education,” based on chapter three of her book Wollstonecraft, Mill, and Women’s Human Rights (Yale, 2016). Free ebook available at:

Monday May 1, noon-1pm: Colleen Mitchell (Political Theory, doctoral student) will present a work-in-progress, “Austen, Shelley, and Parental Tyranny.”


Readings will be distributed by email one week in advance of the session.


Sponsored by the Department of Political Science.