News » Archives » April 2017

Congratulations to Writing Award Winners

April 28, 2017 • Categories: Alumni and Students

The Gender Studies Outstanding Essay Award, presented to a Notre Dame undergraduate for an outstanding essay on a topic related to gender studies:
The Philip L. Quinn Essay Prize, for the best academic essay written by an undergraduate at Notre Dame on a topic related to Gender Studies ($100). This prize is named in honor of Professor Philip L. Quinn (1940-2004) who taught in the Notre Dame Philosophy Department for many years and was a generous supporter of the Gender Studies Program.  Philip Quinn joined the faculty of University of Notre Dame in 1985 as the John A. O'Brien Professor of Philosophy.  A scholar who specialized in the philosophy of religion and the philosophy of science, Quinn was the author of more than 200 articles, reviews, and entries in major reference works and presented more than 180 papers or lectures for learned societies and universities.  He served as the editor of Faith and Philosophy from 1990-1995 and on the editorial boards of eight other journals, and was a significant force in the American Philosophical Association.  In 2003, he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Atalia Omer and David Campbell Awarded 2017 Andrew Carnegie Fellowships

April 28, 2017 • Categories: Alumni and Students

Atalia Omer And David Campbell

Omer, associate professor of religion, conflict and peace studies, and Campbell, Packey J. Dee Professor of American Democracy, will each receive $200,000 toward the funding of significant research and writing.

Congratulations to Janet Kourany

April 24, 2017 • Categories: Alumni and Students

Gender Studies 2017 Recipient of the Marian Mullin Hancock Teaching Award

Janet Kourany, Associate Professor of Philosophy

Janet Kourany is an Associate Professor of Philosophy, Fellow of the Reilly Center for Science, Technology, and Values and Concurrent Faculty in Gender Studies. She is also on the Steering Committee of the History and Philosophy of Science Program. Kourany’s research areas include philosophy of science, science and social values, agnotology, and feminist philosophy (especially feminist epistemology and philosophy of science). Her books related to gender studies include Philosophy of Science after Feminism

Teaching Apprenticeship 2017-18

April 20, 2017 • Categories: Alumni and Students

The Gender Studies Program is pleased to announce that Marisol Fonseca Malavasi (doctoral student, PhD in Literature, minor in Gender Studies) and Marjorie Housley (doctoral student, English, minor in Gender Studies and Irish Studies) will serve as the Teaching Apprentices for the 2017-18 academic year. As Teaching Apprentices, they will TA for the Introduction to Gender Studies in the fall and they will team-teach the course in the spring. Please join us in congratulating them!…

Congratuations to Angel Matos

April 12, 2017 • Categories: Alumni and Students

Angel Matos will be a tenure-track Assistant Professor of English and Comparative Literature at the San Diego State University, with a specialization in children’s and young adult literature and queer studies starting Fall 2017.  He was the Gender Studies Research Coordinator 2014-15 and was the Gender Studies Teaching Apprenticeship Recipient 2014-2015.…

Congratulations Jessica Collett - 2017 Sheedy Award for Excellence in Teaching Recipient

April 11, 2017 • Categories: Alumni and Students

It is a great pleasure to announce to the Notre Dame community that Jessica Collett, Associate Professor of Sociology, is the recipient of the 2017 Sheedy Award for Excellence in Teaching. This award, bestowed annually on a faculty member in the College of Arts and Letters, is named for the Rev. Charles E. Sheedy, C.S.C., a much-beloved former dean of the College. It recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated sustained excellence in teaching, informed by research, over a wide range of courses while employing innovative and creative teaching methods. For more information on this prestigious award, including a list of former winners, see: